This is who I am and what my storey is…..

I never thought in a million years that I would feel so comfortable in myself and my journey that I could share my storey of a Mum living with depression.  Writing about my experience, I know will be hard, but I want it to also help other Mums to feel the confidence to seek help, recover, be a part of a safe community of Mums like me who live with depression, so that we can all share together, talk, increase awareness and break down the stigma attached to depression.  Some of my family and friends who will read my blog may find it quiet confronting, this is not something that I have openly shared, but I hope that it helps them to understand who I have been, and who I am becoming.  For those I don’t know who are reading my blog, I thank you, and I hope that you will take away from it what I have gained from writing about my depression as a Mum.

So who is Sad Mum Happy Mum?  Well I am a thirty something year old Mum of a 12 year old son, who will always be my little boy.  Until nearly two years ago I was a single Mum living with depression.  While I lived with depression most of my teenage and adult years, it wasn’t until I was a Mum of a toddler that it was pointed out to me that I may have depression.  Once confirmed by a doctor, I thought I would easily come to terms with having depression, I would start to understand who I had been as a teenager, as an adult, and I would receive treatment and I would lead a normal life.  How wrong I was?  What I expected was so far from reality….it’s another blog, too long, too much to include here….

My journey through depression has been extremely hard, something at times I never thought I would live through it.  I have lost family and friends along the way.  Depression isn’t just an illness, it is a barrier locking you away from who you are, stopping people from being in your life, and putting you through experiences that you wouldn’t wish on your worst enemy.  My blogs to come will tell my storey and my journey on the road to recovery, the storey of my new life, new experiences and most of all a new me, as a Mum who will be happy.

I hope you enjoy and take something away from my storey…….

 

Parts of my storey are very confronting and some may find upsetting, if you find yourself upset and depressed I encourage you to ring Lifeline on 13 11 14 or BeyondBlue on 1300 224636. 

Leave a Reply

